top of page
Blog: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's pictureLiz Canfield

WIP Mason

After a break to recoup and recover from a major depressive episode, I am climbing back up out of my hole and on to the reborn horse with sweet little Mason. This kit was gifted to me by Bountiful Baby. There was a thread on the website forum for our 'whishes' and my wish for Mason's release was chosen! They honored several wishes and I was delighted to receive a free Mason kit. He was love at first sight. It was such a kind gesture and it showed me that the folks over at BB are paying attention to us and take us seriously as customers, supporters, and artists.


I started this little boy with 2 layers of Flesh06, mixed a little thicker than watercolor consistency, brushed on liberally and pounced off. I put these layers on as a base to help the colors to follow adhere. At this point, there is no noticable difference in the color of the kit.


Next is a BB Vein blue mottle, crease, and shade. This layer is mixed thin enough to see a mark on the bottom of the paint dish.

Of the layers that I put on a baby, this is the layer that I spend the most time on. I really make sure to shade the baby well. I turn and examine the pieces for shadows and shade those. I deepen certain creases and create others. Using shadow, I accentuate the brow bones and around the mouth to lay the contours for the facial expression that I want. My goal for each layer is to make the baby as complete-looking as I can given the layer.

Next is an orchid mottle, crease, and shade. The Orchid color begins with Q.magenta02 and I then add Diox.purple04 until I get a cool fuchsia.

I use this color to give further nuance to the facial expression and to pre-blush areas that will be richly colored such as palms and soles.


More to follow! Check back soon.

28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page